NVDT RANDOM – The Gobbledygook Series

More Nonsentences – Politi-Speak

I often bag on sorry logic, elliptical writing, bad dialogue. All three seen in the wild seem quite natural. I know as I’ve witnessed and even transcribed broadcast “news.” You know, to get a feel for the complete blather that comes out of people’s mouths. Which is something we can fix in fiction, but in the real world? This time it’s politicians. I refrained from editorializing. Write your own captions.

I’ll be long gone before some smart person ever figures out what happened inside this Oval Office. –Ex US President George W. Bush

I have said this a thousand times before, and I will now repeat myself for the third and last time. – Norwegian Politician Kjell Magne Bondevik

I’m afraid your grades were almost derailed by a mutant algorithm…And when you’ve been struggling with something in the classroom or whatever, some concept that you can’t get…like the supine stem of Confiteor, nuclear fusion or…is Harry Potter sexist? Answer “No,” by the way. We have talked for a long time, or I have, about the distant bugle of the scientific cavalry coming over the brow of the hill…- Ex British Prime Minister Boris Johnson

I think it was an interesting approach to have a novel approach to have a national committee take a position like that. So, this is not a support or oppose, this is just an observation that I thought was novel and unique. – Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming)

But in terms of what we have to do in the first hundred days, we must address the needs of this country. Five hundred million people will lose their jobs each month until we have an economic package. – Former Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-California)

But we have to pass the bill so that you can find out what is in it, away from the fog of the controversy. – Former Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-California)

I was informed by the immediate past director of NASA that they’ve found that the moon’s orbit is changing slightly and so is the Earth’s orbit around the sun. We know there’s been significant solar flare activity. And so, is there anything that the National Forest service or Black Live Matter can do to change the course of or the moon’s orbit or the Earth’s orbit around the sun? Obviously that would have profound effects on our climate. – Representative Louis Gohmert (R-Texas)

Poor kids are just as bright as white kids. – US President Joe Biden  

You know half the women in my ca- my more than half the women in my- my cab are- are WOMEN. – US President Joe Biden

I’ve now been in 57 states — I think one left to go.- Campaign comment by Ex US President Barack Obama

And the pièce de resistance

There should be a left leg and a right leg. And I’ll be in between. – Polish politician Lech Walesa

Published by

Phil Huston

https://philh52.wordpress.com/

14 thoughts on “NVDT RANDOM – The Gobbledygook Series”

  1. You found some excellent purlers, Phil. Pelosi not knowing the size of the population of the USA was my personal favourite. Five hundred million people losing their jobs each month made me laugh out loud.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.