NVDT RANDOM – The Gobbledygook Series

AI and MusicYou Did It To Yourselves

This could be a huge boring AI discussion. Or a boring take on the current state of Pop. My plan is skip the parts readers don’t read. Redundancy and speculation.

Assuming one part we can skip is explaining that fake music is among us, I’ll start with a (brief) overview of what’s going on in the music industry.

Most “deep dive” essays on AI and music (or most anything) harp on the gray area involving copyright infringement and the “ownership” factor in pop songs. Which is a fallacious argument/discussion on its face regardless of who has sued who over “that’s my song.” If AI is truly drawing from the data well, how is that different from the samplers and loopers and pop song sweat shops that have given us the same predictable pablum for 143 years?

The old way to write a song, as I will post as fiction in a few days, involved people. Experimenting, arguing, fighting are part of the collaborative songwriting process. As with most creative collaborations. Songs written in a vacuum, or by a single person, the singer/songwriter or simply songwriter still have to see the light of day. Which brings the voice in the wilderness into the world of producers, engineers, A&R reps, record company suits…All that fucking hassle.

These days, an eight-year-old in their bedroom can record an album that used to cost thousands to millions of dollars. There is still the old way, as bemoaned by Sammy Hagar who said, after spending half a million dollars being an old schooler, “What’s the point of spending half a million dollars to make a record that nobody’s going to buy?”

Because records are singles these days, bro. Tracked in charts that didn’t exist in the “old days.” Club charts, dance charts, six thousand sub genres of electronica charts, country, pop, kiddie pop, K-pop, J-pop, Latino. Even Metal and LGBTQ+ gets pulled out into their own charts. If you lay out all the sub-genres of popular music, it looks like a diagrammed sentence from hell, (think Dickens or Poe).

All those people trying to make a buck, all the peripheral vampires looking for their share.

Fuck that hassle and creative angst.

Why?

The music buying and listening public doesn’t give a shit.

Really?

Yeah. Earlier I mentioned 143 years. Thomas Edison made music a passive experience in 1877. And a commercial income stream for content producers. No, it didn’t start with YouTube. Recordings meant an artist could get paid many times over for one performance. Listeners didn’t need to make any investment in experiencing music other than a trip to the record store. They “didn’t need to get involved.” In pursuit of the hit record, the musician/music industry killed itself. Long before AI.

How?

By producing popular pablum for the masses. Sure, touring and live performance to support record sales is still with us. But it’s not new. Women used to scream and faint at Fritz Kreisler concerts long before there were the Four Lads and Ed Sullivan or twelve-year-olds in tears at Debbie Gibson and later Taylor Swift concerts. And they go out after, buy the records the next day and scream and faint and dance in private female only parlor and bedroom parties. Guys do the same thing with testosterone laden crotch rock. But as you’ll see, they’re all the same. Only the grunge factor changes.

The musicians, now armed with a product that didn’t require ticket sales alone to make a buck, adopted a motto of “Give the people what they want.” And over the decades what they want is a beat with a physiologically agreeable BPM and a lyrical something, not too deep, possibly benign, even ignorable, on top. Preferably contained in a melody that can easily be whistled or hummed. How many “catchy” pop songs do you actually know all the lyrics to? Yeah, me too.

All AI is doing is following the rules of the game. When AI wins a showdown between itself, a real songwriter and a classic tune, the reason is down to the fact that the audience has been programmed as much as the music. If not more.

Is a pop song, a singer’s style or voice really proprietary? I remember Eddie Van Halen going off on his manager because he heard a song on the radio and blew up because “That’s Alex’s snare!” Was it? Ed had great ears, so probably. Could he prove it? Probably not. Was Alex’s recorded snare digitally watermarked? Doubtful. Especially back in the 80s.

More on (moron?) that. I take my granddaughter to volleyball practice twice a week, at least a half hour commute each way. I give her free rein to plug in her phone as long as she splits the screen with her Waze so I know where the speed traps are. And I have to tell you I really like the lyrical output of the young female “artists.” But they all sound pretty much alike, stylistically. They’ve all adopted a stripped down Taylor Swift-ish (the old lady of tweeny rock at 34) who adopted the hip hop lyric delivery ethic of occasionally changing pitch at some point in the nursery rhyme “poetry.” And minimal? On occasion, they take the sparse drum machine and something dancing around it plus vocals to a breathy, empty extreme. And sample in complete phrases from often unlikely sources for kids (Bacharach, Gershwin). And many of them openly admit to it.

Is it morally right that machines can go to the same well as humans and produce the same thing, only possibly more in the sellable pocket for the audience? Not my question to answer. I think everyone should learn to play a musical instrument if only to be aware of what’s happening in a piece of music. Which might lead them to demand better of the industry’s output.

Moron (again) the state of pop, composition, and how the industry has shot itself in the foot in a future episode. For now, I leave you with two (three, skip the first two if you want Rick Beato’s rant on the suits) videos. Video 1 – Six country songs that are the same country song. Video 2 – The four chords of more songs you recall but don’t know all the lyrics to than is possible.

It seems there are only a few “hit” songs and “songwriters” simply shove new lyrics between the clefs. Because 143 years ago Thomas Edison made it possible to play it once and get paid forever. Until the computer learned to do it just as well, or better.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nuGt-ZG39cU

Published by

Phil Huston

https://philh52.wordpress.com/

20 thoughts on “NVDT RANDOM – The Gobbledygook Series”

  1. Ahhh Haaaa! I suspected it all along. You turned my conspiracy theory of music into conspiracy fact. I enjoyed reading this exposé of the music for money industry. I left it all behind long ago. I still enjoy indie music when the singer sings with passion. My real preference is the music of the spheres or the songs of the dead. The secret here is I can’t hear them at all. Mostly, it’s quiet inside my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Remember CD singles? I used to buy those. And until recently, (2022) I still bought CD albums too. Then I bought a car that didn’t have a CD player in it, and no space to fit one after-market. So how am I supposed to ‘enjoy’ the new music of performers I like? On a mobile phone, apparently, plugged into a slot on my car’s ‘media centre’, and streamed through the speakers. I have to have some kind of App to do that, I am informed by the 25 year-old car salesman. None of that is ever going to happen, so I now enjoy ‘silent driving’. As for listening at home, it’s all on You Tube, free of charge. Now you tell me that what I am listening to is AI, sampling, theft of talent, and I believe you. Another reason to be glad that I am old.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. All very true. I have no music on my phone because it pops up when it shouldn’t and somehow even if I pay for it it’s not really mine, I have the use of it. My in dash system has a slot for an SD card. I drag stuff off of my computer that I’ve collected over years. When I get tired of it I drive silent, too. I have a story about tape carts and Creedence Clearwater that pretty much soured me on the need to have music in the car.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I really don’t care when as much as I care about engagement. I’ve had the privilege of sitting on a piano bench or a folding chair next to those special people who hold conversations with their instruments. AI can’t do that, and rarely are those moments captured.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh god I love this. I am the first to admit that I have terrible taste in music and don’t care. The formula works on me every time. If there’s a one-hit-wonder, especially from the 90s, I’m there. Feel free to open a can of earworms. New music doesn’t do much for me, though. Occasionally something sticks but rarely nowadays. My theory is that our preferences solidify by age fifteen at the latest. But even if I do like catchy junk, using AI to generate songs and beats just feels so insultingly lazy. At least people used to have to consciously copy each other. I always liked the song “The Hook” by Blues Traveler, and one time I happened to look at the lyrics as it was playing and almost died laughing because it described me to T. I read it uses the Pachelbel tune in a meta way because that’s often the secret sauce that makes us fall for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read an essay that suggested the music that sticks with you unless it’s your job is from roughly 12 to 17, 14 being the big grab point. Yes it’s lazy to abdicate but the support mechanism, touring, is a band/performer killer unless they belong to that small group of performers who have to instead of want to.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Where it all started, “I heard the drum down in Africa…”
    Makes you wonder where the hell the asian cultures glommed onto that dissonant caterwauling they call music.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Instead of me going on and around in circles other than having a politically incorrect opinion and bastardizing history and physics with synthesizer talk, this guy from the University of Bath does an excellent job of cutting the fluff and backstory and sidebars out of the journey to the modern Western Equally Tempered 12 tone scale. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdYzqLgMmgk

      The only thing I will add is the “musical” scale of the 7 that worked (mostly) in an octave goes back several centuries BC in China, and six centuries BC when musicians simply ignored the intervals that sucked. A thousand years later we get into Padua, Cristofori, the piano forte and…

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes. And to beat (no pun intended) the often overtight sound of equal temperament, something that will make a piano sound like a banjo in the mids, we have “stretch” tuning. Which is something I have to have in a virtual piano so it breathes. Or some slop factor. Pianoteq not only has stretch and other tunings, but an “age” slider that will take a $200,000 piano and turn it into the one in grandma’s basement. Perfect only works for roughly seven of the 12. Like, I like number 4, and the flat third, too, but I even though they live next door I don;t want to hang out with them. With equal it’s like So you’re the minor third next door and the suspend fourth that knows that arrogant fuck Pete Townshend!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m a bit behind the times and have only just found out the power of ChatGPT after signing up and asking it for help with information for my history group presentations. To quote one of your peeves… it’s awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.