NVDT RANDOM – The Gobbledygook Series

I would’ve written it myself but (insert litany of justifications here)

I was going to give AI a walk since I feel it’s all hype and no “intelligence”, merely rapid computing based on large data sets. But as I am a cross curriculum person, I couldn’t help noticing some similarities in snake oil sales pitches from the writing and music sides. If you’re into something else don’t worry, they’re out there for almost any creative endeavor from cooking to taxidermy. Their basic pitch goes something like this-

Wouldn’t you like to swing on my star

Carry contracts and trophies home in a jar

Be better off than you are

Or would you rather be a dud?

Because without the product being pitched you are surely destined to be a failure. A dud. With a capital D.

Joseph Michael claims his AI driven approach to retentive use of Scrivener, or idea gathering, or getting “AI” to suggest a plot based on an uploaded graphic will solve all your writing problems. How? Because you aren’t writing anymore!

The music biz is fraught with these same types. The most flagrant offender is Unison Audio. From “AI” driven products like Drum Monkey (I’m not sure if that’s racist or not) to software plugins and drag and drop “proven successful” chord progressions all guaranteed to make anything you crank out a chart-topping success.

Here’s an aside, and what prompted this in the first place. I used to follow a guy who wrote well, and I enjoyed some of his stuff. Not all of it’s for me, but that doesn’t matter. What matters is he worked at it. Not long ago he posted that he used his AI assistant to write a song for him so that he had some lyrics that “wouldn’t step on anyone’s toes” when he published them in his latest WIP. Meaning something “original” that wouldn’t bring down the wrath of a published, copyright holding song owner. Was he too lazy? Was it a hassle to do his job as a writer and write? Is pushing your creativity to get better at your craft obsolete? Seriously. How hard can it be to write a knock off song?

Those questions shouldn’t be asked if you’ve chosen to write. Writing is writing. Like painting is painting, dancing is dancing, cake decorating is cake decorating and playing an instrument is, well, playing an instrument. You might get a product like Chat GPT or Drum Monkey to cop a groove for you, but if it’s real, it’s yours. Good, bad or indifferent. I use this example; you pay $200+ for a good seat at a concert and a computer sits center stage because (insert artist and type of event) decided it was too much trouble and phoned it in. Or, and this is eerily possible, there was no artist used or hurt in the material’s creation at all.

What this all comes down to, for me, is if you can’t imagine it, it’s going to be obvious, regardless.

I did synthesizer/electronic instrument clinics going back forty-plus years. I made a habit of keeping things simple. By that I mean keep it fun. I gave the people with the plastic pocket liners who cared about AD/DA resolution, knob to data linearity, laddering, processing delay, buffering blah blah blah all their time at the end. For everyone else, Hey, if I can do this, anybody can. Which was true, but only to a point. There were always those unhappy people in the crowd who spent money because of the demos like Joseph and Unison (and me) and got less than satisfactory results. The problem was almost always down to that empty distance between tools and desire, and output. Invariably they had no skill, or maybe they were brilliant technically but had zero familiarity with assembling an arrangement. The line I had for those people, and it wasn’t very supportive but I delivered it with as much empathy as possible – “I can teach you how to use the hardware (or software.) I can’t teach you how a song goes.”

Sadly, we have reached a point with certain artistic endeavors where skill, conceptual understanding and craftsmanship don’t matter.

I still believe the difference will be obvious on some level because all the gimmicks in the world won’t help if you don’t have a creative thought, or understand the basic process of constructing a (insert result of craftsmanship).

Some will say, “Sure, but so-and-so has a research assistant.” I’m not talking about research, I’m talking about abdicating our responsibilities as creators. “Alexa, give me the names of the most popular cars in 1982 and who won the Superbowl the same year” is no different than Googling. Asking ChatGPT or similar to write you a song, or dropping a chord set into a DAW or asking DallE to paint you a picture you can blow up and print is not creating.

Further on the author who wouldn’t/couldn’t write his own song, I quit on him because I couldn’t help wondering what else he can’t be bothered to write?

I wonder if he ever asked himself where do songs come from? The people who do it best say the song is out there, it’s our job to hear it. The same with writing. The story is there, waiting. Michelangelo said that the statue was already in the block of stone waiting to come out. Why would you hand off that gift of creating from the muse for expediency?

Any answer to that question besides “you wouldn’t” is bullshit.

We should learn to do what we’re doing, get better at it. Because, as I read in a book blurb from the same Story Empire group as this no name author, no amount of “AI” checking your work will weed-whack redundancies in your content. Will it tell you in a report that you used a word repeatedly? Yes. Will it stop you from elliptically repeating the same content or notify you of poor paragraph architecture? No.

As I publish this, I see where a gaggle of musicians are looking for legislative protection from AI that is cloning their voices and styles. Imitation is the highest form of flattery, right? Not where $ is concerned. I can hear the robots now – “So sue me.” In pick your movie star’s voice.

Come on, people. Write and perform your own stuff. No copycat ever added anything to the creative lexicon and let’s face it, “AI” only knows what’s been done. Let’s do our own homework and stop calling data manipulation intelligent. Because it ain’t.

Published by

Phil Huston

https://philh52.wordpress.com/

26 thoughts on “NVDT RANDOM – The Gobbledygook Series”

  1. Hi Phil, I really enjoyed this post. I’ve never used AI and have no wish to ever use it. I’ve never taken a short cut in my whole life. Creative undertakings are hobbies for me though, so I don’t need to try and speed up the production line.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The word constantly in my head is ‘talent’. Can AI be talented? In my opinion, no. What do I admire most about musicians I love and writers I want to read? Talents I don’t have, ideas that didn’t occur to me. Inventiveness, and taking me in an unexpected direction.

    If AI can do any of that, I will eat my proverbial hat.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. That’s an excellent question. There is a generation out there that has no concept of accomplishment. Like the girl who didn’t graduate high school and her mother made a big stink. Her logic? “She went every day.” They are under the delusion that you don’t have to do anything or learn anything or follow directions. Show up, turn something in even if it has nothing to do with the assignment, get an A, next. The fact that people are trying to sell AI output of all kinds is a furtherance of that work ethic. I found it on the internet. $ please.💩

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes you hit the nail on the head with your last line, it’s all about the $$$$. (Or clicks & likes, which is even worse because money you can at least understand.) I must have missed the boat somewhere.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! To me, AI is cheating, plain and simple. Though it is far from perfect, I like to use my own mind to create stories, etc. No interest in AI at all. (And not passing judgment on those who like it/use it.) This is just my personal take. Again, love the post.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I think of AI in the arts the same way I think of robots and androids: they both lack the soul that makes the real deal truly special. I’m the type of person that tears up at almost every live music performance I attend. Same if I look too long at a piece of art. Not so with any AI pieces I’ve experienced. While they have the same basic structure as the human made originals they emulate, there’s just something that stops the tearing up and starts instead the rolling. That’s a big pendulum swing…and a bad sign for AI!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I saw a great T-shirt the other day. “I might be old but I got to see the
    world before it all went to shit” and godammit I swear it was the Milli Vanilli scandal that ended the Norman Rockwell world. Or maybe it was cable TV.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh no! An old timer! I do my best to stay up with what’s going on. That’s not to say I find uses for it, but understanding how “new” works keeps me out of the old folks’ home. The last thing I want to do is write code, though. Just what the code does🤣

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Mandatory viewing. Because it is a soul sucker. It gets its fangs in your thought and takes off. It can take weeks to recover. Material you thought was a good idea farmed out to “AI” becomes shredder material you can;t get rid of fast enough, like tossing a diseased Kleenex. As Ms. Rodrigo, who writes her own songs says, “Bloodsucker, famefucker
      Bleedin’ me dry, like a goddamn vampire”
      I have seen it go from a crutch to invasion of the body snatchers. Run, Forest, run. Thanks for the vid. I forwarded it to the Professor.

      Liked by 2 people

        1. Dupes are welcome. Anything I respond to making it all the way through on this iPad is a crap shoot. Not to mention the weekly rearrangement or disappearance of action buttons. Feel free to dupe away. Take two, you know?

          Liked by 1 person

  6. “Because you aren’t writing.” Loved that line. I still can’t get over how AI version 0.0001 is flooding the internet with deep fakes of (insert your title here). I’m reminded when I used my first Unix computer on a B&W monitor and gasped in awe when my Hello World code came back Hello World. AI isn’t quite up to that level of amazement yet unless we were raised by the Cartoon Channel and have noisy low expectations. It’s my guess that the dependency on AI to be our creative talent for us will result in no talent at all. Cartoon Channel world will slowly remove the great masters of the creative arts and replace them with an AI. Bugs Bunny is statistically the best representation of a rabbit because the AI found more instances of Bugs Bunny than real rabbits.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The Bugs Bunny line is it exactly. It’s not fucking smart, it’s just (reasonably) fast computing searching a dataset of what’s been done. Like the world’s biggest plagiarist working off the largest set of commonality. As for Hello World, a hundred years ago I watched a guy “program” a pre “Mac” Apple with a few lines of code that sent a pong-like dot rechocet randomly across the screen and it was a genuine “Holy CRAP” moment🤣

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Waaa haaa haaa! 😂 Pong was a bold frontier. We date ourselves but I’m betting we lived an exciting life full of discovery right before entropy brought it all to a dull end.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Bravo Phil for this excellent post. I’m with you on all you said. And not just for artists, for anyone using AI in any capacity without inputting of their own brain cells. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. I think I went through (again) and fixed the typos. No matter how “smart” the software is, it misses stupid stuff while it’s busy telling you how it thinks you should rewrite it🤣

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.